Students present at NCUR | announcements


JONESBORO – Abstracts submitted by 14 Arkansas State University students have been accepted for presentation at the National Conference on Undergraduate Research in April.

The students will work under the direction of 10 A-State faculty members, who will also attend the conference, which will be conducted virtually.

“We are very proud of the students who have been accepted to present at NCUR 2022,” said Kari M. Harris, director of student research at the Office of Research and Technology Transfer. “This conference showcases student research from across the United States, and we are excited to have A-State students attend.”

The students and their abstract titles are:

Abby Avery von Jonesboro, freshman major in economics, “Looking at the Jurisdiction of United States Courts in Aiding Discovery Before a Foreign Arbitration,” Dr. Philip Tew, Associate Professor of Finance and Director of Economic Education and Financial Literacy, Advisor.

Johnna Berryhill von Gosnell, junior math major, “Effect of Maternal Factors on Infant Mortality in Arkansas: Evidence from the Claims Database,” Dr. Sudeepa Bhattacharrya, Associate Professor of Bioinformatics, Advisor.

Nathan May of Newport, junior biotechnology major, “Racial and Other Disparities in Completing Substance Abuse Treatment in Pregnant Women,” Dr. Sudeepa Bhattacharrya, Counselor.

Abby Antici of Batesville, Communication Disorders major (now a graduate student), “Spelling and Singing: Using Music as a Mnemonic to Enhance Spelling Rule Retention Within the Barton Reading and Spelling System”, Dr. Christina Akbari, Associate Professor of Communication Disorders, Counselor.

Ashley Watson of Searcy, Senior International Business Major, “Assessing How a Language Barrier and Money Experiences Affect Financial Literacy”, Dr. Philip Tew, consultant.

Alex Weber von Lonoke, Biotechnology and Biology sophomore, “Arachidin-1, a potential natural product for triple-negative breast cancer,” Dr. Fabricio Medina-Bolivar, consultant.

Alyssa Pett von Norfork, first-year finance major, “Rural Inhabitants, Socioeconomic Factors and Health Literacy”, Dr. Philip Tew, consultant.

Justin Harpers of North Little Rock, Senior Civil Engineering Major, “Life Cycle Comparison of Centralized Wastewater Treatment and Urinary Source Separation with Struvite Precipitation for Single and Multi-Family Housing,” Dr. Hyunju Jeong, Assistant Professor of Civil Engineering, Advisor.

Camryn O’Conner of Little Rock, Psychology major, “Survey about Racial Norms in Academia”, Dr. David Saarnio, Professor of Psychology, Counselor.

Bryce Wilkerson of Bryant, Electrical Engineering major, “Hybrid Music Recommendation Using Convolutional Neural Networks“, Dr. Shubhalaxmi Kher, Professor of Electrical Engineering and Program Director, Advisor.

Madison Eastburn von Eureka Springs, math major, “Perceptions of STEM student experiences in high school and their impact on major and career choices,” Dr. Amanda Lambertus, Associate Professor of Mathematics Education and Department Head, Advisor.

Caitlin Watts von Humboldt, Tennessee, Senior Animal Science Major, “Phylogene and Expression Analyzes of Demethylase Genes in Soybean”, Dr. Asela Wijeratne, Assistant Professor of Bioinformatics and Biotechnology Program Director, Advisor.

Iszeldin Ahmed from Tuti, Sudan, Senior Biology and Chemistry Double Major, “Increasing Root Biomass and Stilbenoid Yield in Hairy Root Cultures while Maintaining the Same Number of Root Inoculum”, Dr. Fabricio Medina-Bolivar, Professor of Plant Metabolic Engineering, Advisor.

Dan Kilula from Lubumbashi, Democratic Republic of the Congo, major in Mechanical Engineering, “Fabrication of Nano-patterned Surface and Its Application for DNA Identification”, Dr. Ilwoo Seok, Associate Professor of Mechanical Engineering, Advisor.


Comments are closed.