NFF Announces College Football Hall of Fame Class in 2022, which includes FSU’s Marvin Jones


TALLAHASSEE, Florida (247Sports) – The National Football Foundation (NFF) and College Hall of Fame today announced the 2022 College Football Hall of Fame Class during the Championship Drive Presented by Capital One on ESPN. The 2022 class includes the former state of Florida Linebacker Marvin Jones (1990-92).

The NFF capsule on Jones is below:

In the early 1990s, Marvin Jones was a dominant force on Florida State’s preeminent teams, becoming the first university player to win two national awards in the same season. The Miami, Florida native becomes the eighth seminole player in the College Football Hall of Fame.

As a two-time All-American First Team, Jones received consensus awards in 1991 and unanimous awards in 1992. During his stellar campaign in 1992, he won the Butkus and Rotary Lombardi Awards, and came fourth in the Heisman Trophy. Jones had 111 tackles that year while leading the Seminoles to the ACC title, an 11-1 record and number 2 in the final after beating Nebraska in the Orange Bowl. The 1992 All-ACC selection of the first team was also named Sporting News Defensive Player of the Year and received the Jack Lambert Trophy.

In 1991, Jones had 125 tackles while leading Florida State to an 11-2 record and a No. 4 finish after beating Texas A&M in the Cotton Bowl. As a freshman in 1990, he was a third team All-American and led that team to a 10-2 record, fourth place and a blockbuster bowl win. Before joining the ACC in 1992, Jones served twice in the First Team All-South Independent selection. He ranks seventh in the history of the Seminoles with 369 tackles in his career, despite having only played three seasons. One of eleven players in school history to retire, Jones was inducted into the Florida State Athletics Hall of Fame in 2000. He was coached by College Football Hall of Famer Bobby Bowden and played alongside Derrick Brooks, Terrell Buckley and Charlie Ward during his time in Tallahassee.

As fourth overall selection in the 1993 NFL Draft, Jones played his entire eleven-year career from 1993 to 2003 with the New York Jets.

As a coach in the Champions Indoor Football (CIF) league, Jones has been the head coach of Omaha Beef since 2019. In 2021 he led the team to a victory in Champions Bowl VI. Jones also serves as the general manager of the NFL Draft Bible’s Pro Football Free Agent Database, which enables scouts from all professional football leagues to easily evaluate and obtain pertinent information about prospects.

The full outline of the class from NFF is below:



  • LaVar Arrington – LB, Penn State (1997-99)
  • Champ Bailey – DB, Georgia (1996-98)
  • Michael Crabtree – WR, Texas Tech (2007-08)
  • Sylvester Croom – C, Alabama (1972-74)
  • Mike Doss – S, Ohio State (1999-2002)
  • Chuck Ealey – QB, Toledo (1969-71)
  • Kevin Faulk – AP / RB, LSU (1995-98) Moe Gardner – DT, Illinois (1987-90)
  • Boomer Grigsby – LB, State of Illinois (2001-04)
  • Mike Hass – WR, Oregon State (2002-05)
  • Marvin Jones – LB, Florida State (1990-92)
  • Andrew Luck – QB, Stanford (2009-11)
  • Mark Messner – DT, Michigan (1985-88)
  • Terry Miller – RB, Oklahoma State (1974-77)
  • Rashaan Salaam – RB, Colorado (1992-94)
  • Dennis Thomas – C, Alcorn State (1971-73)
  • Zach Wiegert – OT, Nebraska (1991-94)
  • Roy Williams – DB, Oklahoma (1999-2001)


  • John Luckhardt – 225-70-2 (76.1%); Washington & Jefferson [PA] (1982-98), California [PA] (2002-11)
  • Billy Jack Murphy – 91-44-1 (67.3%); Memphis (1958-71)
  • Gary Pinkel – 191-110-3 (63.3%); Toledo (1991-2000), Missouri (2001-15)

The 18 First Team All-America players and three outstanding coaches in Class 2022 were selected from the national vote of 78 players and seven coaches from the Football Bowl Subdivision, the 99 players and 33 coaches from the division ranks, and nominees from the NFF Veterans Committee.

“We are very proud to announce the College Football Hall of Fame Class in 2022,” said Archie Manning, NFF chairman and 1989 College Football Hall of Fame of Mississippi. “Each of these men have established themselves among the absolute best players who have ever played or coached and we look forward to immortalizing their incredible performances.”

The 2022 College Football Hall of Fame Class will be officially launched during the 64th NFF Annual Awards Dinner on December 6th (location still open).

The initiates will also be honored at their respective higher education institutions with NFF Hall of Fame On-Campus Salutes, presented by Fidelity Investments, in the fall. Their accomplishments will forever be immortalized in the Chick-fil-A College Football Hall of Fame in Atlanta, and each new entry will receive a custom-made ring from Jostens, the official and exclusive supplier of NFF rings.

The College Football Hall of Fame Class 2022 announcement was made today during the Championship Drive Presented by Capital One ahead of the College Football Playoff National Championship tonight.

“We’d like to thank ESPN for the opportunity to announce the College Football Hall of Fame Class in 2022 in advance of the College Football Playoff National Championship,” said Steve Hatchell, President and CEO of NFF. “Today’s announcement highlights the accomplishments of some of college football’s greatest legends.”

Parts from NFF release

Copyright 2022 247Sport. All rights reserved.


Comments are closed.